PDA

View Full Version : Now I got a Meg DA and first time wishing it.. any tip/tricks?

terentius
10-10-2011, 08:18 PM
HI Folks

I had juz got a DA and had tried using over the weekend "feeling" how the machine works. The result is below expectation

I have make several mistake and the Major ones are what Mike highlighted in one of his thread.

1. Trying to work too large of an area at one time.

Had work on too large an area

2. Moving the polisher too fast over the surface.

Moving the polisher too fast - and using a LC green polishing pad and JW prime. Dont think it really help to remove the swirl or stubborn mark :( ( AM being too careful cos it is my first time)

3. Using too low of speed setting for removing swirls.

Being too careful of using speed 2. I hope I do not introduce more swirl to the body.. seem like there are few other new swirl or scratch :(

4. Using too little downward pressure on the head of the polisher.

Worried that I will burn or create more swirl

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/auto-detailing-101/37769-da-polisher-trouble-shooting-guide.html

I had made a purchase of OPT polishII and some LC Hydro tangerine pads. I hope to give it another shot when the item arrived.

1. How do I ensure I do not create more swirl to the paint
2. How many pass do I need to for a 2x2 section / test spot
3.What is the speed on the meg DA for polishing

Appreciate any tips/tricks with the product / machine.

Thanks

embolism
10-10-2011, 10:01 PM
what car and colour are you working on?

I used compound II today and it still took about 15 lbs of pressure for the first 4 passes then lighter pressure for 4 more passes to get some scratches out of hard clear (they did not catch my finger nail) so I doubt that you would create more swirls using polish II with a tangerine pad.

for correction, you need to use speed 5-5.5