PDA

View Full Version : Newbie help

Auto-Glow
10-01-2011, 07:23 PM
Hello folks,

I'm relatively new to detailing and have been relying on this forum to guide me as I gain experience. I've done a handful of cars with better success than I had hoped, however, I recently started a Black 2006 BMW 530 i for a close friend (He is aware of my low experience level) and the car is giving me fits. The cars paint was trashed with very dense swirls and scratches. I am equiped with the Makita 9227C, PC 7424XP, Lake County CCS pads (all colors for both 6" and 8.5" with appropriate backing plates and counter wieght for PC) and Menzerna chemicals (Intensive Polish, Power Gloss, Final Polish, Finishing Glaze, Final Finish, Super Finish). I've been struggling to remove what should be light scratches and swirls. I am accepting that the car was so scratched that I wont be able to remove 100%, however I appear to be reintroducing light scratches during the Final Finishing process. I'm beginning to suspect that I have a PAD issue, bad towels (Cobra Delux Jr 600). I'm hoping one of you can look at my photos and give me a clue as to what may be happening.

Much appreciated.

rider9195
10-01-2011, 07:33 PM
In the after pictures, what polisher, pad, polish combination was used? If you just did that with the Makita, you will need to follow it up with a finer polish on the Porter Cable.

Auto-Glow
10-02-2011, 01:22 AM
Duhh... It would help if I mentioned what I used.

1st pass was Makita at 1800 rpm, 8.5 inch orange CCS pad with Power Gloss
2nd pass was Makita at 1500 rpm, 8.5 inch white CCS pad with Intensive Polish
3rd pass was PC at speed 4, 6 inch grey CCS pad with Final Finish

Each step buffed with Cobra Delux Jr 600 micro fiber towels with final buff including a 10% alcohol wip down.