PDA

View Full Version : Mobile Detailers/ Do you use a foam cannon?

Pages : [1] 2

Rav777
09-29-2011, 03:19 PM
I have been doing mobile details for about 6 years and I have always been intrigued by the foam cannon, I just never thought about buying one.

Well lately I have been researching and I have some questions on it if anyone can answer them. Is this item worth it to the mobile detailer or does it take more time to wash a car. Also does this method save more water, or waste more water? The biggest tank I can fit in my car is a 50 gallon and I know that shooting the foam might save water, but do you eventually end up wasting more water trying to pressure wash all the tick foam off?

Any help will be appreciated!

RaskyR1
09-29-2011, 03:23 PM
I'm not mobile but I'd say it definitely uses more water

Kristopher1129
09-29-2011, 04:10 PM
I don't think you necessarily use more water. I always do an APC soak, followed by a pressure wash. Then I foam, scrub, then rinse.

Without the cannon, I would just be dipping my mitt, or brush instead of spraying. I like the cannon because it gets soap in all the hard to reach places with ease. It will shoot right into wheel wells, crevices, grills, inside the rim, etc. It's handy, I love it.

I guess the only way I see it using more water is because it does mix with water. But I wouldn't say it's much more than when you are dipping your mitt or brush.

Shawn T.
09-29-2011, 04:20 PM
Rinseless and waterless washes FTW!

I have never used a foam cannon but they certainly look like a lot of fun. I sort of want one just to use to spray the car when I'm bored.

SeaJay's
09-29-2011, 04:27 PM
I'm mobile and I have a foam cannon but I only use it on heavily soiled cars typically. I don't have a water tank either. I use the customers water source.

They do come in handy but I can definitely get by without it.

ThirdgenTa
09-29-2011, 04:55 PM
Rinseless and waterless washes FTW!