PDA

View Full Version : polish choices

mjc189
09-16-2011, 02:12 PM
I am new to the detailing scene and will buy a PC DA this weekend.I plan on getting flat 5.5" LC pads : 1 Yellow, 1 orange, 2 white and a gray pad. Are red and blue pads needed ? They sound SOOOO similiar to a gray pad!
I will wash then clay with clay magic.

I currently have swirlx and want to remove fine scratches on my car (Desert silver metallic acura). I also have paint transfer I need to remove. I plan on starting with a white pad if that doesn't work can I move up to an orange pad? If I use a gray pad will swirlx function as a finishing polish? b/c I want the car to look like a scratchless mirror. If swirlx can be used as a finishing polish I plan on using wolfgang sealant 3.0 (sample) if not would I be better off to follow up with poorboys PwS. Either way I would wait 12hours then wax on top. (natty's blue or collinite 845- can both be used on rims?)
I also want to do the same to my fiends 96 impala SS but it's black so i'm nervous lol
people talk about applying waxes with a white polishing pad, after these steps wouldn't I use a gray pad since white has minor cut to it? all these steps speed 4/5 on PC 7424xp?

I also plan on using megs apc plus dilluted 10:1 for carpet and dash, 4:1 for engine, rims, and tires. could I use 10:1 as bug and tar remover or dillute more?

I'm on a budget so I can't afford specialized products for everything.

I have been reading like CRAZY and learned a lot. You guys have been SUPER helpful thus far!

embolism
09-16-2011, 02:38 PM
I don't think you need yellow

get 2 orange, 2 white and 2 black

try a test spot with white pad and swirlX, you may want to get some ultimate polish to use with a black pad if your test spot is not to your liking but on silver, swirls are pretty hard to see without the proper lighting.

I'd go with the WGDGPS. Never tried NB on rims, I'd go 845 for the durability.