PDA

View Full Version : Tears In My Clearcoat?

BlantonDetail
09-14-2011, 02:50 PM
My car may not be the nicest, prettiest, or greatest car ever, but it's still my car. It's a 99 Lumina with a Pewter Metallic paint. On the hood it looks like there are actual little tears (like rip-tears, not crying tears) in the clearcoat, and the paint chipped under that.
Is that actually what I'm seeing, and is there anyway to fix it other than just touching up the paint? There's some really small rust spots in some of the paint around the car, and a buddy is going to help me with replacing those places in the body. But I'm not sure about the hood. It doesn't look like there's much to work with. I'm pretty new to things more than regular detailing and wax jobs and I've yet to purchase a DA. I just want my car to be as nice as it can be, for what it is.
Advice or suggestions?

Thanks!!

rider9195
09-14-2011, 02:51 PM
:Picture:

BlantonDetail
09-14-2011, 02:56 PM
:Picture:

Hello! Yeah, when I get home tonight I'll take some from my wife's cell phone and put 'em up on here. I forgot to say that..
I don't have a way to until I'm off work tonight which should be in about 2 1/2 hours, if anybody wants to countdown!

BlantonDetail
09-14-2011, 06:31 PM
Ok, it got kinda late on me, and it's also dreary and rainy, but here are two samples of this issue on my hood.
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9225&stc=1&d=1316042947

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9226&stc=1&d=1316042947

Flash Gordon
09-14-2011, 06:34 PM
I would either have it repainted or apply touchup paint and learn to live with it

Kristopher1129
09-14-2011, 06:55 PM
It's hard to tell, but it almost looks like your paint has been burnt. In the second picture it seems like you can actually see the layers. It looks like the very middle went down to paint, and the darker part surrounding the middle is clear coat.

I don't know...just a guess.

BlantonDetail