PDA

View Full Version : What are the options if you don't have access to power?

Pages : [1] 2

maverhick
09-13-2011, 10:26 AM
I'm a newbie in the world of detailing. There seems to be overwhelming support for DA orbiters and there are some brands folks swear by and so on.

But I can't use any that I can plug to a power socket. Thanks to living in an apartment, there is no electric plug that I can use where the cars are parked.

I then read up on 12v car cigarette lighter plug powered polishers and folks kind of hated em. I am posting this query here because there may be other options that I couldn't find during my search or just could dish out some plain advice on how I could do this.

As of now elbow grease seems to be the only option, but I have 2 cars and a bike. I'd really love to use any machinery to get the work done faster.

What are my choices? Did I miss something/anything?

shoeless89
09-13-2011, 10:29 AM
Get a generator, get a long extension cord and run electric from the nearest outlet, or they have converters that plug into your 12V outlets in your car and provide a place to plug in a standard outlet but I would be worried 1) about draining the car battery and 2) Damaging the DA because it's not getting the right amount of power

Setec Astronomy
09-13-2011, 10:30 AM
There have been some threads lately on power inverters, which will take your 12VDC and convert it to 115VAC. Of course, you could also buy a generator.

Just out of curiosity, are you allowed to do this kind of thing in the apartment complex parking lot?

storm100
09-13-2011, 10:46 AM
Try doing a search for inverters here on the forum. The cost of the inverter you may need may exceed the need given your situation.

JRivers
09-13-2011, 10:52 AM