PDA

View Full Version : Microfiber care?

Count
09-08-2011, 04:01 PM
So I did two interior details last week. And being a newb, I have not yet developed a system to keep track of my towels. So basically right now all the dirty rags are in a pile together. This includes the ones for wiping down the leather, the glass, the door jambs, the dash etc. Now they all were new when I started and I intended to keep them seperate but by the time it was said and done there they lay all together in one pile.

So I have two questions. First what is the preffered method for cleaning them? I have read to NOT use fabric softener. Other than that i don't know what TO use. So if I could have a few suggestions i'd be much abliged.

Next, Hopefully I can get some feed back and/or suggestions as to how you guys keep your stuff organized. I am working out of a 5'×8' utility trailer, so space is limited.

Count

mswerb
09-08-2011, 04:06 PM
I do not separate my dirty towels, but do wash them seperately. I keep anything that is pretty dirty, such as applicator pads used for tires and trim dressing together. Microfiber and terry towels are kept together. I don't use any special detergent when washing. Never use dryer sheets.

clintb
09-08-2011, 04:18 PM
Don't use anything that can impart a residue, such as fabric softener and dryer sheets. If possible, use non-scented/perfumed detergent.

Separate the really dirty stuff. I'd keep two five gallon buckets, two boxes, two trash bags. Heck, two of anything that you could keep the good microfibers and applicators separate from the crap (rims, etc...) microfibers and applicators (tires). You're already doing a ton of work by correcting a customer's paint, so why risk putting in swirls by washing really dirty stuff with the good?

mjlinane
09-08-2011, 05:15 PM