PDA

View Full Version : Need help getting a PC7424XP setup

Pages : [1] 2

John1988
09-06-2011, 09:26 AM
Hey everyone, I'm very interested in getting a PC7424XP, wanted one for a couple years now but never got around to it. I'm having a bit of trouble deciding what products are best for me as there seems to be hundreds to choose from, it's quite overwhelming. First things first- I'm on a budget of $200-$250 and keep in mind I have no experience with DA polishers, so ease of use is another factor for now. My truck is a 2007 Tundra Double Cab Blue Streak Metallic, paint is in good shape, just has some hairline swirls. I will also be detailing a neglected Black 2008 Tundra Crew Max with moderate swirls + holograms. Any idea how many extra pads & colors I might need to finish a Tundra? I heard pads get saturated and loose their cutting power and what not. I would like to use the least agressive products possible too.

Some setups I'm considering:

Porter Cable 7424 Car Buffer, 7424 Polisher (http://www.autogeek.net/poca74pofcop.html) + more pads

or

PC7424XP + Meguiars 205 & 105 + more pads

or

PC7424XP + Meguiars DA Microfiber Correction System + more pads

I was really thinking of getting the Meguiars DA MF Correction System, since it seems simple and faster untill I came across these videos:

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKehndD2huc]Meguiar's MF D A Correction system vs a BMW Jerez Black M3 - YouTube[/video]
[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCut03xrLNg]Gannon Mobile Auto Detailing AZ - YouTube[/video]

The above results are not what I'm aiming for. I am hoping they used the wrong techniques? I have seen other videos of this setup working much better, but those vids brought out my doubts of this setup...

Is there any difference between the PC7424XP and Meguiars DA polisher? Btw, how many times can I polish with a DA untill it starts to ruin the CC/paint?