PDA

View Full Version : First order, please review

bigjppop
08-27-2011, 02:57 AM
I'm getting ready to place my first order and wanted a sanity check. I'm an amateur and will be working on my own car.

Details:
Daily driver, family car (2010 Dodge Grand Caravan)
Black exterior, light grey leather interior
My wife is the primary driver, two little kids are the primary passengers (none of which are very easy on the car)
The car lives outside 24/7
Not looking for show car looks, longevity and durability are the most important. I want to keep the car looking good for as long as possible.

I'm having the car detailed professionally next month and I'll let them handle the heavy lifting of polishing, swirl/scratch removal and the initial sealant and wax. I will probably have them do this once a year. I'll handle the maintainence along the way. My car is parked on the street about 50 yards from my house so I have no power/water hookup available. I'll be doing the bucket wash at the local coin operated joint.

So...
Duragloss 901 for the wash
Optima power clean for interior cleaning duties
Poorboys Natural Look for interior protection/leather conditioning
Ultimata trim and tire guard for exterior protection
Griot's HD wheel cleaner
Stoner's glass cleaner
Collinite 845 for for more regular wax jobs (not sure if I'll apply it or ask my detailed to it every three months or so)

I've read lots of good things about Finish Kare 425 and Optimum spray wax, not really sure what they're for. I'm looking for something for quick cleaning of both interior and exterior duties ( will the FK 425 work here?) as well as something to shine the exterior up between waxes. I'm open to suggestions on this one; do I need both? Better options?