PDA

View Full Version : Black F150

sorford
08-26-2011, 06:51 PM
I have some experience with polishing using a PC and Prima products. I had the process down for our MINI cooper, but now we have an F150. Before I get ready to work on the truck, does anyone have any experience with the paint on these? It is an 08 if that matters. The paint is in pretty good shape with minor swirls and some water spots. There are also water spots on the glass that I need to work on.

Last month, I took a scratch out of the tailgate of the truck. I used the orange pad with swirl, and it worked, but I seemed to have been left with more swirls then I am used to. I plan on doing a test spot to see if I was too aggressive, or not aggressive enough, but thought I would see if anyone has any insight before I get going.

I have yellow, orange, white and black pads from LC. From the Prima line, I have Swirl, Amigo, and Epic. On the MINI, I had luck with the orange pad with swirl, followed by the white pad with Amigo.

Thanks,
Shannon

Here is the MINI after I polished it out the first time. :)
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i313/moms_pics1/PICT3053.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i313/moms_pics1/PICT3055.jpg

Flash Gordon
08-26-2011, 06:56 PM
You should not be leaving swirls behind with a PC

Fords truck paint is easy to work with IMO. I would go with the orange pad and 105 if you have it. If not, pick up some Ultimate Compound

dchristo
08-26-2011, 07:16 PM
I polished mine a few weeks ago.....be prepared !!!!! the clearcoat is HARD....the orange pad and ultimate compound did nothing...I went with purple wool and 3M super duty compound as the first step, then orange with UC

poweraid
08-26-2011, 08:12 PM
I polished mine a few weeks ago.....be prepared !!!!! the clearcoat is HARD....the orange pad and ultimate compound did nothing...I went with purple wool and 3M super duty compound as the first step, then orange with UC