PDA

View Full Version : Detailing a car with clearcoat failure

ThirdgenTa
08-22-2011, 05:27 PM
Does anyone have any tips? I have never done one and don't want to make it worse or ruin any of my supplies.
I normally do a wash, clay and wax for the exterior.
Will my clay get gummed up?
How about my towels, applicators and pads?
What should I use on the wheels? All the clearcoat is coming off them too. I normally use Brown Royal or Megs APC 4:1, but that's probably too harsh because it's "Clearcoat safe".
Any tips you can give me would be appreciated. I am doing this car tomorrow morning.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v110/ThirdenTa/185.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v110/ThirdenTa/187.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v110/ThirdenTa/186.jpg

Flash Gordon
08-22-2011, 06:04 PM
Nothing you can do other then wash the exterior at this point

bretster
08-22-2011, 06:05 PM
I've never done a car like that before so I'd also know how/what you do. Goodluck man but until then i agree with this:

Nothing you can do other then wash the exterior at this point

Flash Gordon
08-22-2011, 06:08 PM
I've always thought it would be pretty cool to sand all the rest of the clear off and go with a mattee look

Throw some chrome wheels on it, and you got urself a HotRod :dblthumb2:

Ricky Cartagena
08-22-2011, 06:18 PM
I usually pass on these cars and let the customer know detailing this is not worth the time because only a paint job will fix this. Also for insurance purposes not worth the risk but I usually offer the customer an interior detail and a thorough wash but if they insist just polish and wax the parts that dont have clear coat failure... Just my opinion and let them know in a nice way without offending them in their investment! Funny because if they would do the details before it gets like this instead of being cheap lol and hoping you do miracles for a few bucks then embarrasment should'nt be an issue... Never wax this is the result jejejeje

ThirdgenTa