PDA

View Full Version : Total newbe, need recommendations

SirVilhelm
08-15-2011, 12:23 PM
Hi, I am completely new to auto detailing/paint renewal and need some recommendations. I have two black cars, one was bought used and in its ten year life span I doubt it was ever waxed or even properly washed. The paint feels like sandpaper and there is oxidation and ghosting(?) in the paint. The other vehical is just now a year old and had a professional detail about 8 months ago.

I found this site while searching around for good detailing guides/techniques but there is so much information I am having a hard time getting my head wrapped around it. My goal is to get the ten year old car restored as best I can, doesn't have to be perfect but I don't mind spending days at a time working on it. The new car I just want to maintain, it is showing some swirl marks that I would like to get out but overall it is in good shape.

I am starting from zero as far as product goes. I know I need a good detailing clay, paint sealant and carnauba. I am also picking up a porter cable 7424 to assist :buffing:.

Is there an all-in-one kit that would work for my situation or should I piece together everything I would need? Since I want to use a DA do I need to get products specifically for use with a DA? I just need some pointers on what to get for each of my vehicles. Thank you and sorry for the long post ;)

PA DETAILER
08-15-2011, 12:26 PM
here is some good reading to get you started. and welcome!

Auto Detailing Facts, auto detailing Tips, How to detailing Guides, how to polish, how to wax, DIY detailing, do it yourself guides (http://www.autogeek.net/detailingtips.html)

truckbutt
08-15-2011, 02:11 PM