PDA

View Full Version : Scratches not buffing out 97 C- 5 Vette

Driwash
08-11-2011, 09:06 PM
I am a noob to machine buffing, just received PC 7424xp and working on my 97 Vette Torch Red the paint is very nice but there are some very light scratches. They can not be felt with the finger nail. Here is what I have done. Used orange 4" pad set speed to 5.5, used MEGs #9 swirl remover, paint was clay blocked and very clean. Used very slow arm movements, made 6 section passes and buffed off with MF cloth. Did this three times and the stright line scratches have no sign of removal. I have detailed older cars by hand years ago and never had this type of problem. Must be the clear coat is made of Kriptinyt. This is my first try but I am very determand, and that this is not brain surgery.
I don't have a pic of the scratches. Sorry I phone not that good But I do have a pic of the how good the hood looks in the garage.

Here are my questions,

Am I not using the right swirl remover?
Should I be using a more aggresive pad?
Is it just that the clear coat on the 97 vette is extra hard?
Am I just a noob and asking to much?

Any Suggestions welcome, even bust on the noob jokes......:buffing:

Tom

Mobile detail
08-11-2011, 09:18 PM
Vettes have a very hard clear coat your right ashit that. #9 isn't a very strong swirl remover at all. I would suggest menzerna sip or 203. If your looking for otc megs ultimate compound would work. Using a pc wil take time to correct instead of a rotory but it should be able to be done. I think. Make sure you follow up compound with a finish polish like 85rd Or p106 menzerna line. Hope this helps feel free to ask any more questions, I'm sure other will chime in.

truckbutt
08-12-2011, 08:05 AM