PDA

View Full Version : Not happy with Griots/Menz result...

Pages : [1] 2 3

BLKZ06
08-09-2011, 11:56 AM
First off, I'm an expert with a rotary..just learning the D/A side of things.

I'm working on my new 2011 Black Z06..so I ordered up some nice goodies from Autogeek. No pics right now, but I may add some as I get info flowing in.

New Griots D/A, 5" backing plate, various 5" LC pads, Menzerna Power Finish, Menzerna Super Finish Nano, and some nice Microfiber cloths.

I also have numerous 3M products, DeWalt 849 Rotary with assorted 9" pads, etc.

I don't have any pics right now, but I started off with Power Finish and an Orange LC pad. The car was in a showroom and looking at it with my Halogen stand lights, I could see some faint to moderate "scratches/marring" but nothing too terrible. Mostly light scratches from washing/drying I assume..people leaning on it..etc.

Fired up the Griots on speed 4..The orange pad/Powergloss combo marred the paint..it actually looked worse than the original finish I started with.

I then tried another orange pad with 3M Swirl remover and that removed the marring, but didn't take out the original marring/scratching that I was trying to get out in the first place! Tried again with 3M, and used speed 5..nice shine but didn't remove any original marring. I made at least 6 medium speed passed in a up/down motion on the test panel.

Anyways..I finally gave up and grabbed the rotary with a black pad, 1000 rpms, and 3M swirl remover..this removed all the marring and scratching and left a slick finish, but now I have some holograming. Not worried about that.

It looks like I am able to get a really nice finish with a white or black pad, the Griots on speed 4 and the super Nano finish after using the rotary on the marred areas.