PDA

View Full Version : Heavily oxidized paint or worse?? How to polish...

Pages : [1] 2 3

mcdavis
08-02-2011, 03:37 PM
Please view the attached photos.

This is a Mercedes ML320 from 1999. When it was new, we used to Zaino it...

We haven't done anything with the SUV in perhaps 6-7 years. What a mess.

How would you approach this one?

Clay before polish, polish before clay?
Is the paint just oxidized or worse?
What kind of powered buffer and polish would you recommend?
What specific clay bar?
Specific wax? Is Zaino still really good or is there something better these days?

We also have some heavy scratching on parts of the car near the driver side key...from keys...what a mess.

Thanks, Regards, -mark

RoyalBlUE08
08-02-2011, 03:39 PM
im no professional at all, im new to machine stuff, but it looks like it might need sanding. wash, clay, sand, compound, polish, sealant are the usual steps to correcting paint

Setec Astronomy
08-02-2011, 03:43 PM
That paint looks failed, but you might be able to bring it back. If you can get some shine on it...this might be great application for Opti-Coat 2.0 to save you from a repaint.

I gather you don't have a machine since this is your first post. You're going to get a lot of different opinions, and there is no "best" approach. You'll want to do a thorough wash, then clay, then move on to polishing.

I think if it was me starting out from scratch, I'd go for the Meguiar's G110 and the Microfiber DA polishing system, although there are plenty of options.

Setec Astronomy
08-02-2011, 03:44 PM
im no professional at all, im new to machine stuff, but it looks like it might need sanding. wash, clay, sand, compound, polish, sealant are the usual steps to correcting paint

There is NO way I would sand that until it's established what the condition of the finish is, not to mention a whole lot of other reasons. It is completely incorrect to state that sanding is a "usual" step.

RTexasF
08-02-2011, 03:55 PM