PDA

View Full Version : Old Studebaker

Pages : [1] 2

tw1012
07-25-2011, 11:51 AM
I am new to the forum but I am active on several other sites.

I recently bought a Car Wash in Austin Texas. This is my first wash and we do some light detailing. I have become friends with a mechanic down the road and he sends me 2-3 cars per week.

He has asked me to work on an old Studebaker with heavily oxidized paint.

I Purchased 3M rubbing compound, Carnauba Cleaner Wax and Turtle Wax F21 Polish.

I tried a small area inside the Trunk and it looks great but I am worried that once I use it on a larger area it will produce swirls.

any advice? I am very new to detailing.

thanks,

Trevor

tw1012
07-25-2011, 12:08 PM
crap, im already in trouble. I thought there was no way I could mess it up just by putting wax on it and I was wrong. I have already messed up the hood. Help!

Flash Gordon
07-25-2011, 12:10 PM
[QUOTE=tw1012;510228]I am new to the forum but I am active on several other sites.

I recently bought a Car Wash in Austin Texas. This is my first wash and we do some light detailing. I have become friends with a mechanic down the road and he sends me 2-3 cars per week.

I Purchased 3M rubbing compound, Carnauba Cleaner Wax and Turtle Wax F21 Polish.

I tried a small area inside the Trunk and it looks great but I am worried that once I use it on a larger area it will produce swirls.

any advice? I am very new to detailing.

thanks,

My advice would be to practice your polishing skills before trying to tackle this job

Flash Gordon
07-25-2011, 12:11 PM
crap, im already in trouble. I thought there was no way I could mess it up just by putting wax on it and I was wrong. I have already messed up the hood. Help!

Are you working by hand?

BTW....I'm a big fan of Trouble ;)

Ted S.
07-25-2011, 12:16 PM
Possibly one of the greatest threads ever written on the subject of restoring an old, oxidized one-stage paint, like that on the Studebaker: