PDA

View Full Version : Can you finish off with M205

Pages : [1] 2

row011
07-25-2011, 09:17 AM
Hi All

I have bought the Megs MF system with M105 + M205

Can you finish off with the M205 + Megs MF finishing pad.

I also have LCC pads, if the M205 + Megs MF Finishing pad leaves some swirls should I use a foam pad for less cut and to finish off?

Any advice very much appreciated.

ObsessiveAutoDetail
07-25-2011, 10:04 AM
It all depends on the paint surface. Softer paints typically don't finish down as well with 205. I have no experience with the Meguiars MF pads as I use a rotary 90% of the time... But I can finish down quite nicely with 205 on a hard paint like most GM vehicles...

HeavyMetal
07-25-2011, 10:06 AM
Yes. There are many posts here on using 205 (or Menz 106 or 85RD) with the mf finishing pad. Reportedly works great.

RaskyR1
07-25-2011, 10:21 AM
When it comes to the final finishing I feel that foam does as better job on most paints and I find the MF pads can leave faint micro marring on some softer paints.

My normal process for following D300/MF is with M205/LC finishing foam pad. On some paints I may use something other than M205 to finish with, but I will always reach for the M205 first.

WRAPT C5Z06
07-25-2011, 10:28 AM
When it comes to the final finishing I feel that foam does as better job on most paints and I find the MF pads can leave faint micro marring on some softer paints.

My normal process for following D300/MF is with M205/LC finishing foam pad. On some paints I may use something other than M205 to finish with, but I will always reach for the M205 first.
Do you not use D301 that often after D300?

Tom Weed
07-25-2011, 10:38 AM

Rasky spoke to me about this last week, if you want better protection than D301 then you probably want to finish with another polish after D300 then your LSP. Topping D301 with another sealant/wax may affect it's ability to bond and stripping the D301 to apply a sealant seems like your going backwards...

row011