PDA

View Full Version : When are you considered a business?

Pages : [1] 2

New Image
07-23-2011, 02:54 PM
So I've been detailing cars here and there for a while now and I'm a full time student and I detail on weekends for a little extra cash. When are you considered a business and have to do all those things that come with being a business

loudog2
07-23-2011, 02:55 PM
When you tell the IRS.:dblthumb2:

JonMiles
07-23-2011, 03:03 PM

:iagree:

BobbyG
07-23-2011, 03:11 PM

:iagree: So don't....Otherwise they'll keep asking for donations to their cause... :laughing:

New Image
07-23-2011, 04:26 PM
Reasoned I asked is...I had a client write a check out to me but in the "business name". What should I do?

Plan b Detail
07-23-2011, 04:36 PM
In my opinion, I would give him back the check and either have him pay you cash, write a check in your personal name, or set up the square credit card terminal and charge through that. Hope it all works out

WindyCity
07-23-2011, 05:00 PM
if you have a business name then you are a business! Get your business registered with the county/state and open a checking account so you can cash the check. I have a free business checking account at harris bank.

And whether you are a business or not you always are supposed to claim the income on your taxes!

WindyCity
07-23-2011, 05:06 PM
:iagree: So don't....Otherwise they'll keep asking for donations to their cause... :laughing:

LMFAO and asking for the required donation never ends!

In my opinion, I would give him back the check and either have him pay you cash, write a check in your personal name, or set up the square credit card terminal and charge through that. Hope it all works out

It doesn't take much to set up a business checking, so if you plan on using the business name then why not make it legit?

vinyldoctor
07-23-2011, 05:07 PM
Thats why I am Corey Blake The Vinyl Doctor. not The Vinyl Doctor.
I tryed to get a license once, they wanted to say I am a upolsterer.