PDA

View Full Version : White Toyota 4runner

trerc
07-20-2011, 06:14 AM
I plan on doing a correction job on my wifes vehicle and while most of the paint is in excellent condition the hood has some dreaded haze going on. I know I could work this out with a rotary but I plan on purchasing a flex da and was curious what to use as I'm new to da correction. I was debating on using meg 105 or their ultimate compound with an orange pad on the hood roof and rear hatch as the rest of the truck can likely get by with polishing compound and a white pad as the rest if the paint needs minimal work.

BobbyG
07-20-2011, 06:36 AM
For starters I'd try some Meguiar's Ultimate Compound and a white foam pad.

Meguiar's Ultimate Compound isn't as aggressive as Meguiar's M105 and a white pad is a light cut so this should prove to be a nice combination to begin with. If this proves to be very slow switch to the orange pad as it's a bit more aggressive.

trerc
07-20-2011, 06:44 AM
Thanks, as mentioned im not new to detailing as I have a couple years of rotarty use under my belt tho that's been several years ago... my only intentions now are personal vehicles and maybe the occasional friends vehicle. Im fairly certain from what im reading the flex will be plenty capable machine and will easily meet my current needs.

BobbyG
07-20-2011, 07:07 AM
Thanks, as mentioned im not new to detailing as I have a couple years of rotarty use under my belt tho that's been several years ago... my only intentions now are personal vehicles and maybe the occasional friends vehicle. Im fairly certain from what im reading the flex will be plenty capable machine and will easily meet my current needs.

The Flex 3401 is a really great machine. I bought mine about a year ago and replaced my Porter Cable 7424 for paint corrections. I use my Porter Cable 7424 for applying all my sealants and waxes but I do have a smaller backing plate for using 4" pads if I need to.