PDA

View Full Version : Meguiars Ultimate Compound vs M105

Pages : [1] 2 3

05RLS2
07-18-2011, 08:36 PM
For the past 3 or so years that I have been polishing, I have been using the Danase Swril Abolishers II and I (no longer available) and these have usually all I have needed to correct and are really easy to use. I've come to a point where I need something stronger to remove some tough water etchings, I believe the SA products just removed some and masked the rest. I'm not an expert polisher by any means, so I have been reading what I can about using M105. All I can say with all of the techniques and methods out there, along with the different kinds of pads use and priming methods, it casn be really intimidating. I don't really feel like experimenting and polishing my car many times to get corrected and haze free results, so I have been looking at Meguiars Ultimate Compound since it is supposed to be not as harsh than 105, yet agressive, and is supposedly easier to use with less hazing.

What kind of correction results can be done with Ultimate Compound? I am working with a newer GM vehicle which is supposeldy has a harder finish (no not a Vette either in case thiers is harder yet)

Is it faily easy to use, or actually easier to use than 105, for someone who doesn't use a 7424 on a regular basis?

After using Ultimate Compound, do I need to go to a like a step II swirl remover then go to a step I swril remover/finishing polish, or can I usually just go straight to a finishing polish?

Does it use the SMAT technology like 105?

Also, do 5.5 pads work well with it? If so, which work better the LC CCS or flats, or is it just a matter of preference? I am assuming I should use orange pads with it, right?

Like I said I am not familiar with this product, but if you feel that there is something that is easy for most anyone to get the hang of using, yet have good cutting power, let me know. I am open to suggestions. Thanks

Setec Astronomy
07-18-2011, 08:47 PM