PDA

View Full Version : To clay or not to clay?

Pages : [1] 2 3

frank213
07-14-2011, 09:22 AM
I am more of a rookie than I originally thought when it comes to polishing and waxing. I have a 3 year old vehicle which I have maintained regularly. Just purchased a PC system. What is the down side of not claying and just polishing and waxing?

Peaky85
07-14-2011, 09:29 AM
I am more of a rookie than I originally thought when it comes to polishing and waxing. I have a 3 year old vehicle which I have maintained regularly. Just purchased a PC system. What is the down side of not claying and just polishing and waxing?
I'm a rookie also, that said, I just finished my Dodge Magnum last week. I too thought I kept it pretty clean, until I clay barred the entire car. I was astonished at the debris that showed up on the clay bar ! I would venture to guess that bar is now a throw away. So I guess the result of not using the clay bar would have allowed all that grime to be ground right into the paint yielding poor result's at best, if not completely damaging the finish. My .02

embolism
07-14-2011, 09:29 AM
if you don't clay then any contaminants that have bonded to the paint (and don't come off during washing) will contaminate your pads and be ground into your finish, possibly causing marring, pigtails, etc...

BobbyG
07-14-2011, 10:07 AM
if you don't clay then any contaminants that have bonded to the paint (and don't come off during washing) will contaminate your pads and be ground into your finish, possibly causing marring, pigtails, etc...

Take this to the bank!

Claying a car is very easy and takes about 30 minutes to complete.

I've used this photo several times to illustrate how dirty your paint really is after washing... The photo below is from claying 1/2 the hood on a 3 month old 2011 Hyundai Elantra.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/Clay-01.jpg