PDA

View Full Version : How do I learn to use the Flex?

shoeless89
07-01-2011, 11:24 PM
I bought my PC last year and I LOVE it. But from what I've read about the Flex its a great product. I would like to continue to improve my skill and learn to use new products. BUT I also have read a lot about the dangers of using a buffer as powerful as a Flex or rotary buffers. So I guess my question is, how do I go about learning to use such tools safely and effectively without damaging my cars finish in the learning process?:thankyousign:

C. Charles Hahn
07-01-2011, 11:36 PM
Join us for Detailing 101: Saturday Open Class (http://www.autogeek.net/detailing-class-101.html)

Elite Pro
07-01-2011, 11:36 PM
Practice on junk panels

shoeless89
07-01-2011, 11:44 PM
I would love to go to the classes but I live in Cincinnati and I'm a poor college student lol Where do I get junk panels?

Elite Pro
07-01-2011, 11:46 PM
Pull-A-Part, Junk Yard, or some have had success from going to body shops and asking them

truckbutt
07-20-2011, 09:04 PM
Maybe it's the way the handles are perfectly placed on the Flex. I started using the Flex 3401 with a little experience on the Meguiars DA. It just seems natural. Just work with, and not against the contour of the surface you are on. I agree with the poster who suggested using an old panel. I used my 98 explorer.

shoeless89
07-20-2011, 10:27 PM
Thank you for the tips! My friends car is a peice, I'm sure I can practice on it. The worst that can happen is I improve it lol

CEE DOG
07-21-2011, 06:41 AM
Don't worry, practice makes perfect and the best thing you can do is go for it. Practice like the guys said on a junk panel and you'll feel confident in no time.

DaVinciAutoSpa
07-22-2011, 10:18 AM
You'll have the Flex mastered in 10 minutes. Don't over analyze it, jump in and do it. That's the best way to learn. Put your hesitations aside and DO IT.

Do a test panel on a friend's car.

BobbyG
07-22-2011, 10:26 AM