PDA

View Full Version : Meg's MF Finishing pad and was leaving swirls

stebob
06-27-2011, 02:23 PM
Ok, I'm pretty much a noob at this. I just do it as a hobbyist. I've been doing it for a couple of years, though, just not that often. I'm always learning something new. Anyway...I picked up the new Meg's MF system to use with my 6" GG.

Anxious to try it out on my 2005 Dodge Ram quad cab in bright white. Since the last polish it got last year it had some swirls and scratches here and there. I did the cutting pad and compound and quite surprised how well it finished out. Only a slight haze/marring left behind. Had to really look close into the sun to see it.

So, ok now to get a perfect finish. I used the finishing pad and wax and looked into the sun with horror. SWIRLS! Yes, they were slight, but there nonetheless and they weren't there after the compound step. So I made a pass with compound and removed them again. I thought maybe I used too much pressure, or too many passes. I did 3 passes with pretty light pressure. So this time I just used the weight of the machine and made 2 passes after recompounding to remove the swirls. Same thing! Ok, maybe I had it on too fast a speed. I had it on 3 on my 6" GG. I used 2.5, only the pressure of the machine, 2 passes. Same thing.. Thought maybe it was the finishing wax, so I used the other pad (I got 2 with the kit) and put 205 on it. Exact same thing.

I ended up just finishing out with the compound step. Since it's white it's not noticeable unless you really look hard, but I wanted a perfect finish. I might have got it finishing out with 205 and a white LC flat pad, but I didn't try it. I just made myself happy with the compounding step in disbelief I got the results I did with the finishing pad and wax.