PDA

View Full Version : Which CLAY??

Pages : [1] 2

turbos17
01-17-2007, 04:45 PM
I know this probably has been answered numerous times...but I am still a nOOb when it comes to detailing...I am still new to it and don’t want any mistakes if possible. However, my questions are as follows-

-What is the best clay?

I have used the Meguiar’s fine clay kits and it works, but it seems like it takes forever because the bar is not hard enough or durable enough. The best and only other I have used is the 3M Clay that is sold on this site. IMO this stuff kicks butt...it is a lot harder and doesn't fall apart or break down as fast.

-Is a harder clay going remove any wax/sealant that is in the car?

-Is it better to get a harder or softer clay?

-What is the best lubricant/QD to use when claying a vehicle?

The reason I am asking is because I just did my neighbor's 350 Z last week as seen on this link and it took forever to clay
I used Meguair’s NXT quick detail as lube and the Meguiar’s Clay kit and I wasn’t satisfied with its power..so I stepped up to my 3M and it was far superior. Should have started with it at the beginning! Thanks for all the info and suggestions for this newbie! Feed back please

Mike T
01-17-2007, 04:58 PM
Here's a good starter
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3369&highlight=clay

turbos17
01-17-2007, 05:12 PM
Here's a good starter
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3369&highlight=clay

Thanks! That answered most of the questions, but what do ALL you think/use?

HAN
01-17-2007, 06:12 PM