PDA

View Full Version : Hydrotech pads on rotary?

93fox
06-06-2011, 07:53 PM
So ive been using flat pads for most of the time but i have a set of hydrotechs laying around. Are hydrotech pads good on the rotary? Ive heard alot about the pad flying off, coming off the velcro, etc. I know that if i want to do a whole car i would need at least 4 sets to do a whole car. Have any of you guys used hydrotech pads on the rotary? How have they preformed? Have there been any problems? Any input would be very much appreciated!

LegacyGT
06-06-2011, 07:55 PM
I have found them to be grabby / hop around quite a bit, but I am still a novice with the Rotary. I am currently trying the kompressors on the rotary, but still trying to get over some slinging issues.

Flannigan
06-06-2011, 08:00 PM
I use them on my rotaries all the time. I have heard a few people call them grabby, but I have never once experienced this myself. They have been nothing but perfect for me.

Also as for the backing I believe it is caused by not allowing the pads to dry 100% after you clean them. If the pad has some moisture in it and then gets hot while on the machine, it is only a matter of time before the glue will start to fail. Personally I've never had the backing fail on one of them, but I am very careful to make sure they are fully dry before I use them again.

The only downside I see with them is they aren't as tough as some other pads, but I think this is due to the fact that they have a open cell design which lends itself well to cutting and polishing, but not so well to standing up to tons of pressure, or catching on a random corner.

Just my .02

93fox
06-06-2011, 08:11 PM
I have found them to be grabby / hop around quite a bit, but I am still a novice with the Rotary. I am currently trying the kompressors on the rotary, but still trying to get over some slinging issues.