PDA

View Full Version : 1998 Red Dodge Ram

Trevor
05-30-2011, 12:43 PM
This weekend I removed the scratches/swirls on my dad's 1998 red Dodge Ram. He was a skeptic when I told him about what polishing could do, but is now firmly a believer!

This is my second vehicle I have done, so I'm still learning, but I found it to go way easier than my first time.

After a good wash with my foam gun, I used:

1. Turtle Wax liquid clay, followed by clay bar.
2. Wolfgang Swirl Remover 3.0.
3. LC CCS pads, orange.
4. Menzerna top inspection.
5. Collinite 845
6. Optimum Opti-Bond Tire Gel
7. Aerospace 303 protectant on cover and other trim.

I normally use a meguiars clay bar but over a year ago I bought the TW kit and decided to try it out on dad's vehicle rather than my own. :) I also cleaned the chrome with the liquid clay, which actually worked really well.

I tried to take a few before pics but couldn't get an accurate portrayal of what I was actually seeing with the naked eye. The difference was night and day though.

Anyway here are the pics, most people couldn't believe this was 1998 before the correction; I think it looks better than new now!

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/Ram_2.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/Ram_Corrected.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/ram_3.JPG

Trevor
05-30-2011, 01:15 PM
Oops forgot one more.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/ram_side.JPG

Shane731
05-30-2011, 01:44 PM
Looks good! :props:

And with that, I have reached post #3000. Woohoo! Im the MAN

CrownKote
05-30-2011, 01:45 PM
Nice truck and outcome man... How did you like the TW Clay stuff?

Trevor
05-30-2011, 06:58 PM
Nice truck and outcome man... How did you like the TW Clay stuff?

Thanks! To be honest, I had pretty low expectations for the TW clay kit and was pleasantly surprised. The step 1 liquid clay worked well actually. The clay bar that comes with it is pretty small though.

BobbyG