PDA

View Full Version : Cyclo or Flex?

Old Man
05-19-2011, 09:21 PM
Gentlemen,

As a first machine, which would better suit me?

I have no experience with machines, but my tendonitis has gotten the better of me.

At this time, I can only buy one.

Any and all input will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Bates Detailing
05-19-2011, 09:23 PM
I have the cyclo and have used one for many many years and love it..... BUT - I can say that on automobiles I use it less because of the small areas that have to get hit. On the larger buses, aircraft, rvs, etc - it is an AWESOME tool!

Arnie36
05-19-2011, 09:35 PM
first off, :welcome: to Autogeek Online!

in my opinion, i dont think a first time polisher should be a flex. I would lean more toward a Porter Cable or Griots DA. The free floating spindle DAs cant mess up and damage your paint, and the flex has alot of power behind it.

just my two cents :]

CEE DOG
05-19-2011, 09:52 PM
I haven't used a cyclo but I love my flex and never consider looking elsewhere. I used a GG and the flex is a MUCH more enjoyable experience for me. Maybe not for somebody else but it's what I like.

Ricky Cartagena
05-19-2011, 10:02 PM
If your a beginner definetly the cyclo... I used it my first year and learned alot from it before moving up to a high speed makita. Its all you need until your ready for the next step! I still use it mostly for interior shampooing and for any cleaner waxes on paint like Adams Revive polish, you wont regret it. Give it a try it works!

S2K
05-19-2011, 10:04 PM
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-expert-featuring-mike-phillips/22263-how-choose-right-polisher-your-detailing-project.html

"The biggest benefit is they are absolutely user friendly in that because of their free rotating spindle assemblies you can't burn through the paint and as long as you're using DA approved pads and products you can't instill swirls and in fact you can use them to remove swirls safely and effectively."