PDA

View Full Version : Buffing out bad tree rash...tips?

Impulsive
05-18-2011, 03:56 PM
Hi folks, new here, just registered.

I have an obscure car obcession, with Isuzus to be exact. This is my 2001 Isuzu VehiCROSS. Isuzu's limited production halo vehicle.

http://www.nofuture.com/lj/2009/07-18-09/23.jpg

A month or so back, I rolled 100,000 miles on the odometer, and I decided it is now time to give the old girl a break. Basically, I want to clean the VX up and keep her as my "garage queen".

I have a lot of new parts for the VX, including brand new headlights and lots of exterior trim bits that will make her look almost new. The interior is pretty much spotless, but I can't lie, over the years I have had my fun. On one particular 4x4 trip, we found ourselves about 40 miles into a trail that suddenly became overgrown for a bit. Needless to say, my nice black paint job got some pretty wicked trail rash on that trip. Here's a look:
http://www.nofuture.com/lj/2009/07-15-09/05.jpg

Now most of these tree scratches are light, but there are some that have left a more permanant mark. What I would like to do at this point, is give the paint a good detailing and see where I stand with it. I have not made the decision yet, as to if I will have the entire vehicle repainted or if a good detailing will look "good enough" for me. Some body work will be required on the hood and tailgate, as I have some small dents and rock chips that will need repairing by professionals.

So, long story short, I bought the Griot's Garage Random Orbital Polish & Wax Stick Kit yesterday and I can't wait to get started. Any tips or pointers to get these deeper scratches out? I understand my results may not be 100%, but I am going to try my best and see how it comes out.

------------------------------------------------------------