PDA

View Full Version : Will this work for basic rock chips?

Dibidoolandas
05-11-2011, 09:27 AM
I know the rock chips question has been asked over and over but I'm wondering if how I plan to get rid of them will be sufficient for my needs. The car's not even a year old and these are very small nicks for the most part. I've noticed a bit of rust in the chips so I was thinking of using a fiberglass pen to remove it (if I can fit - is there a good chemical agent that would do this better?), then just using one of my small modeling brushes to dab in touch-up paint I got from my dealership. I've heard people say to then sand the area and apply clear coat but since these nicks are so small I wonder if that's overkill? Plus I'm a total noob so I would probably find some way to screw that up royal. I attached some pics to show the exact size - car is a 2010 Honda Insight in white.

05xrunner
05-11-2011, 10:05 AM
dr colorchip

Dibidoolandas
05-11-2011, 10:18 AM
dr colorchip

Yeah that's what I've seen repeatedly. I guess I'm trying to save myself a bit of scratch (having also already purchased the touch-up paint and pen).

embolism
05-11-2011, 11:04 AM
if it's a daily driver then just use the touchup pen after getting rid of the rust. Don't use the applicator though. put some on a piece of wax paper then use a toothpick to put the thinnest layer you can. Might have to do it 3-4 times to build up the paint. Patience is key.

Dr. Colourchip is good for road rash but I didn't have much success doing bigger chips with it. Haven't given up on it yet since I got the largest size...

keep in mind it works better on dark colours too..

FUNX650
05-11-2011, 09:35 PM
Some good advice given above.

Once the chips have been repaired to your satisfaction/standards, and, to reduce further chip occurrence, you could consider having clear paint-protection-film applied to the more vulnerable areas of your vehicle.

jbgrant
05-11-2011, 11:17 PM