PDA

View Full Version : My game plan for expert review!

maluminas
04-19-2011, 12:21 PM
Hi all!

I recently ordered my starter kit of detailing stuff and can't wait to receive it and get started! I thought i should post my plan for expert review and suggestions.

History: i have no experience beyond a simple wash and dry, so this is an ambitious undertaking, but with your great advice i'm sure i can make it. I'll be doing my own car, it's basically new, only one year old, and just came out of its first canadian winter. The red metallic paint has lots of swirls from road abrasives and snow brushing, and some light water spot etchings (on the glass too). I also have some kind of hard resin drops scattered around the paint and glass. Overall the paint is not bad, but it's not super shiny. Oh and it's a Kia Forte.

You: ಠ_ಠ

Don't look at me like that! It's a great car! It's my precious and i want to make it shiny.

Note: Unless otherwise specified, assume i'm using microfiber.
Note to self: Don't forget the "before" pictures.

Interior: So i thought i should start by the interior. It's in generally excellent condition, just a bit dusty. Except for the driver's carpet... I have muddy crusts and white salt crystals growing out of the carpet like some alien microbe... So:

Front Carpets:
-Vacuum
-Spray cleaner on
-Sprinkle with water
-Brush gently
-Vacuum the dirty water out
-Repeat until water comes out clear
-Should i apply 303 fabric guard?
-Buy better rubber mats, ones that dont leak...

Back Carpets:
-Hardly used, just vaccum

Seat fabrics:
-Excellent condition, vacuum
-Apply 303 fabric guard

Vinyl:
-Wipe dust off the surfaces and out of all the tiny crevices
-Use 303 vinyl cleaner
-Apply 303 vinyl protector

Glass:
-Clean with DP glass cleaner (tinted windows)
-Inspect for streaks
-Clean again if needed
-Final wipe with dry dedicated MF