PDA

View Full Version : New guy here with some questions.

zippster223
03-29-2011, 04:49 PM
OK
So I’m pretty new at this stuff but sure have caught the bug. I received a Griots package for Xmass and a few other items as well. I would like to refresh the 7 year old paint on my wife’s car (going to try hers first) with what I have in my inventory. Could I get some comments or suggestions as to what I have proposed here?

1. Bucket wash car with dish soap. (It has years of wax build up from drive thru car washes)
2. Dry with microfiber towel.
3. Clay bar entire vehicle with Mothers Clay bar system.
4. Rinse?
5. Dry with blower.
6. Buff/polish? With Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover 3.0 using a porter cable 7424xp and an LC orange pad.
7. Apply griots one step cleaner/sealant with a LC blue pad.
8. Let cure for 24 hours then apply two coats of Griots Carnauba stick with LC red pad.
My focus here is to bring the paint back up to par and get a little protection going for these Iowa winters. I figure if I don’t get too aggressive I can redo when I get a little more experienced. My gut tells me I am missing something before or after the swirl remover. Also is the one step cleaner/sealant a bad idea?

BobbyG
03-29-2011, 05:09 PM
:welcome: To Autogeek Online!

Thoroughly washing your car is an important first step. While it may make some sense the waxes that may have been applied during one pass through an automatic car wash would be stripped the next time through.
No need to dry here just begin claying the entire car with the Mothers Clay bar system.
Some do wash again but that's a personal preference and is not mandatory.
Wolfgang swirl remover is a nice product for light to moderate swirls but it will certainly bring up the gloss leaving the paint freshly polished.

To start, use this product with an orange pad at speed 5.
Work each 2 X 2 section crisscrossing 3 to 4 times then check your work.
Keep a watchful eye on the pad and clean it as needed