PDA

View Full Version : need D.A polisher and pad input

poweraid
03-28-2011, 07:35 PM
hello, im just getting into detailing more seriously, just a do-it-at-home guy. i currently just bought a pc7424xp. i am having 2nd thoughts of this vs. the flex xc3401. my pc is unused and i can still return it. the only thing holding me back is the price of the flex. could use some input of people satisfied/unsatisfied with the pc and flex. also need input on pad selection. i currently got 6.5 inch lc ccs pads. i see some comments to use 5.5 inch pads and/or even the flat pads. i have a 5 inch b.p. i have the light green and gray pads. i will be using xmt360 and collinite. could use some help with pad size selection and which pad to use. please help.

silverfox
03-28-2011, 07:48 PM
Although the FLEX polisher gets a lot of kudos on here (and rightfully so), you can do some pretty amazing things with a Porter cable DA polisher (just ask the guys using the new Meg's MF DA correction system). Plus the PC is great for laying down glaze or wax or sealant in my opinion.

I see no need to return your PC....but yes, the 6.5" pads are only useful for putting down wax or sealant. If you want to do paint correction or serious polishing with a PC, get some flat, thin 5.5" pads. I love the Hydro Tech low profile pads...and yes the new Megs MF pads are pretty incredible too.

You purchased a great polisher...now get out there and start enjoying your purchase.

poweraid
03-28-2011, 07:55 PM
r the lc ccs pads not flat or r u stating to get the ones with out the dimples

poweraid
03-28-2011, 07:58 PM
lc flat pads have like a rounded edge i think is that what u r refering to?

silverfox
03-28-2011, 07:59 PM
The flat pads with no dimples....however the CCS pads (the ones with the dimples) will work too...but I think you waste too much product with the dimpled pads. Just a personal preference on my part.

5.4 Shelby
03-28-2011, 08:13 PM