PDA

View Full Version : new member hello

poweraid
03-25-2011, 09:57 AM
hello everyone. new member here to get lots of info, instructions, tips, product recomendations. i am not a professional detailer i just love to take care of my vehicles myself, more of a hobby . tired of the off the shelf stuff at the local store. i have just placed multiple orders to get myself going in the right direction with good quality products. im sure i will have many questions and hope some of you take the time to help me out.

Flash Gordon
03-25-2011, 10:08 AM
Welcome from Memphis

Fire away with your questions

dad07
03-25-2011, 10:14 AM
:welcome:

poweraid
03-25-2011, 10:24 AM
ok i live in northern wisconsin and we have some harsh winters and then the dreaded road salt. spring is getting here and i am getting ready to detail my ride. what i plan to do here and what i have to do it with, i need help with the correct steps to take in applying it.
first gonna clay bar, then i have xmt360 to use. now i am stuck here in that i have wolfgang deep gloss spritz sealant . do i carnauba wax before or after the sealant? and then what do i use for upkeep during the summer months, and then what do i need to do for reeady for winter? any product recomendations will help also.

BobbyG
03-25-2011, 11:06 AM
:welcome: To Autogeek Online!! :dblthumb2:

I post this quite a bit bit there's allot of information here especially for some of the new recruits.

After reading and understanding some of the basics, the more hands on your are the quicker you'll build your knowledge and gain experience.

Everyone starts off as a beginner but with some reading, questions, and trial, error, and practice you'll be amazed how much you'll be able to do.

This link contains articles written by Mike Phillips and has allot of great reading within.

Articles by Mike Phillips

Basic steps in order are:

* Wash
* Clay
* Paint Correction & Polish
* Seal
* Wax