PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, need help please

brians149
03-15-2011, 07:06 AM
I'm new to the DIY detailing game again after a 7 year layoff. I'm moving into my new home on Friday and finally have a hose and garage to store all my cleaning/waxing products. I used to mainly use Griot's garage products and was thinking of purchasing their complete car care kit including bucket but I'm sure there are a lot of newer recommended economical products with new technology. I need help picking out a nice arsenal of products in a package if possible but I am on a budget right now of about $300. I don't have a show car but would like a some good basic products like wash, wax, scratch remover etc to start off with. I own a 08 Mazda CX7 in Copper Red and my wife has a silver honda accord.

Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it!
Brian

SeaJay's
03-15-2011, 07:21 AM
Your going to open up a bucket of worms here! There are so many great products out there and everyone has their opinions! I'll start with my personal preferences for some items first. By no means are these "the Best" or anything like that. Just what I personally use.

Car wash soap - DP Xtreme Foam or Megs NXT
Clay - Adams Clay bar
Clay Lube - ONR Diluted
Rineless Wash - ONR or DP Rinseless
Tire Shine - DP Tire Gloss or Wolfgang Black Diamond tire gel
All Purpose Cleaner - Adams APC or Simple Green Diluted
Degreaser - Super Clean Degreaser
Various Brushes - Daytona wheel brush, couple small boars hair brushes, lug nut brushes
Quality Microfibers
window cleaners - Stoners invisible glass or Sprayway
Interior Cleaner - 1Z cockpit premium or DP interior Clenaer
Wax - Collinite 845, Pinnacle High Gloss 180 XMT, Dodo Supernatural, Pinnacle Souveran
Sealant - Menzerna Power Lock, Wolfgang Deep Gloss 3.0, and DP Poli-coat

That's a good list to get your started but your going to get a lot of different feed back.

Mike Phillips
03-15-2011, 08:09 AM
Hi Brian,

Welcome to Autogeek Online!