PDA

View Full Version : Finishing polish needed?

Trevor
03-08-2011, 04:14 PM
Hello everyone and thanks in advance for any suggestions. I'm completely new to detailing and have been reading/watching videos on AGO. Last summer, I clayed my black Escape and then applied some Meguiars 21. It was very easy to use and gave fantastic reflection. However, I also noticed a ton of swirling and light scratches all over the vehicle that appeared amplified.

This year, I'm buying the Porter Cable 7424xp and am going to to get those swirls out and make it shine. Here is what I am planning and please let me know if a step is not necessary:

1. Wash/dry.
2. clay (I figured this would be necessary again, but I'll feel first)
3. Use meg's swirl x first and see if that gets the swirls/scratches out. If not, I'll use ultimate compound, followed by swirlx. Both by DA.
4. Here is my first big question. I had planned on following the swirlx with the megs 21 sealant at this step. But in watching the PC overview by Mike P, I think he used a finishing polish after the swirl remover. Do I need a finishing polish after swirlx and before megs 21? If so, which one?
5. After the megs 21, I'm topping with poorboys natty blue wax. I know its not necessary, but some people's pics on here of the wax on top of the sealant looked really good to my eye. So I'll give it a try.

Additional questions:

The pads confuse me as they give the same description on some (i.e., can be used with polishing, applying waxes..) The PC kit I'm ordering off of AGO has Lake Country pads. Can anyone give me some advice on which ones to use for my above steps? Their orange pad says to use for spot repair of swirls, should I use the white instead with the swirlx/UC? My head is spinning with pad choices.

Finally, is there a wait time needed between any of my steps above? Somewhere I read something about needing to wait at least an hour after using a sealant before wax?