PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed for upcoming detail

newb001
03-02-2011, 03:46 PM
Hi all. I've been 'detailing' since late 2010 (just for myself) and have only really done 1 big detail on my car (so I'm still a newbie).

As background I have a 2010 black Audi and all cleaning/detailing is done by hand.

For my first big foray into detailing (in September 2010) I did the following: ONR wash, KAIO, 845. I tried to clay but after doing 1/4 of the hood it didn't feel right and I didn't want to mess anything up.

Since September I have done 2 or 3 more ONR washes, one time drying with Prima Hydro and another with FK425. I have also done a couple of power washes at a local coin-op, with no follow-up at home (even though it needed it) as it's been too cold for me. At the coin-op a couple weeks ago I must admit that I used the soap option even though I know it's not the best idea. The car was just so dirty and I figured I'd be adding some protection in the coming weeks.

So, now that the weather is looking a bit nicer (might be 50 in NY this weekend), I was thinking of doing an ONR wash and then 'something else'. I will also attempt to clay but am still a bit hesitant. I would then either just use a spray wax (Hydro), or 845. My question is (and I'm sure the answer is yes but I wanted to double-check), do I need to use a cleaner/AIO (KAIO or AG SRP) before my LSP? Or if I'm comfortable with the finish after the wash/clay just go ahead with the LSP? It's been 6 months since I did the 845 so it's probably mostly gone (though beading still looks ok).

Also, I have Menzerna PowerLock which at some point I want to try out (was thinking of doing half the hood with 845 and half with MPL). Does using MPL instead of 845 change whether I should use an AIO first?

Thanks!

Mike Moore
03-02-2011, 04:16 PM
This should get you started.
Put a baggie on your hand
Rub it on your hood.
Do you feel little bumps?

2 bucket wash
Clay w/clay lube
Rinse after clay
Check for swirls