PDA

View Full Version : Help with designing (portable) detailing kit

Pages : [1] 2

lindadong
02-07-2011, 01:04 PM
Hey guys!

I'm an industrial designer from Pittsburgh working on a project to design a portable detailing kit for classic cars. I'm sort of a detailing newbie so I was hoping to get some input on what types of supplies, techniques, or personal habits you guys have if you've ever taken your kit with you in your car. I've shadowed some professional detailers in their shops but I feel like transporting and detailing your car in an outside environment (say at a car show) is a different experience.

If you guys have some input, I'd love to learn more about:

1. What supplies and tools you bring with you.
2. How you carry all your stuff and where you put them in the car.
3. Annoyances or inconveniences with the outdoor detailing setup.
4. Any specific objects (like kneeling pads or headlights) that you don't use at home.
5. Anything you'd really want in a portable kit (hard case shell, wheels, work belt, etc.)

Thanks for any help you can give me! It's pretty tough locating hobbyist detailers (let alone classic car ones) in town.

Linda

Perfections
02-07-2011, 02:28 PM