PDA

View Full Version : CALLING ALL IT PROFESSIONALS AND TECHIES!!!! (and anyone else who feels like looking)

Pages : [1] 2

natewood70
01-20-2011, 09:48 AM
I need some opinions from you guys and gals if possible. I work in IT, specifically core network operations support. I literally stare at 4 computer screens for 8 hours a day analyzing, diagnosing, preventing, and repairing network issues. Last night I was in class (accounting...it sucks) and I was having a really hard time focusing on the projector and my computer screen. Paper at the same distance was fine, and reading everything on the whiteboard was just fine. I have 20/20 vision and am considering getting some computer glasses. Specifically Gunnar's located here: Gunnar Catalyst Wi-Five Eyewear - Catalyst Eyeglasses | Gunnars.com (http://www.gunnars.com/product/indoor/wifive/) ... this will be my first purchase of computer glasses and was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these or others they may recommend! I know a lot of us on here work in IT and I figured this would be a good place for me to start! Thanks for anyones help, direction, or opinion!

:work:

ScubaCougr
01-20-2011, 10:54 AM
Try turning the brightness way down on your screen to ease eyestrain. Most are way over-lit.

Although you are 20/20 overall, your near vision may require a little boost from dime-store readers. And as you hit mid 40s or maybe earlier you might need bifocals. I finally bit the bullet, spent $10 and t's amazing what .5 or 1.0 in a reading glass will do.

natewood70
01-20-2011, 10:57 AM
Thanks for the response! I turned the brightness down to about half of what the screens have to offer when I first got here in fear of having the eye strain, and yet it still happend :(. Thanks for the info, I'll try the $10 option before adding another 0 to that price!

dougaross
01-20-2011, 11:37 AM
Have you talked to an optometrist. There are glasses with lenses that adjust for viewing angles, etc.

natewood70