PDA

View Full Version : Stained Paint... Pepper white

hbSean
01-14-2011, 08:47 PM
Hi!

So yesterday I was going to get a Clear bra installed on my Mini cooper but and when the installer peeled off the stripes from the hood we noticed yellowing above the hood scoop where the stripes had been..
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/Stormtimmy/IMG_0070-1.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/Stormtimmy/photo.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/Stormtimmy/photoI.jpg

Since I had ordered a Griot's DA kit I thought I could try and polish it out with the DA and Griot's machine Polish 3
here are the results sorry for the crappy photos my camera took a dump today ><
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/Stormtimmy/IMG_2268.jpg

Ill try to get better ones when my brother comes home with his camera..

anyways, Should I keep using Griot's Polish 3? It seems to work but I'm new to this and I don't know if polishing the same area allot will damage the paint?:buffing:
Feed back please

Thanks for you time :dblthumb2:

ShaunD
01-14-2011, 09:29 PM
That stinks. Should have left the stripes and put the bra over them.:)
If you are using any cutting pad with a polish repeatedly then it will eventually thin the clear coat.
I would recommend claying the yellowed areas real good like, and then polish with a good cleaner/wax or cleaner/polish. The idea would be to go least aggressive to more aggressive until you are satisfied or feel that you may runout of clear coat to polish. I would use a mild compound by hand if the cleaner wax/polish doesn't give results. If you have one of those handheld double sided compound/wax applicators that would be ideal to test something more aggressive with; just start gradual with pressure. God bless in your attempts.

Kristopher1129
01-14-2011, 09:34 PM
Hi!