PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wax questions.

WJave
12-19-2010, 09:30 AM
We just picked up two new vehicles (new to us). One is a 2008 Hyundai Sonata and the other is a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. Hyundai is gold and the Jeep is pewter in color. OK I'm a total newbie to doing things right so here's the questions. Both paint jobs are in very good shape for the age. I plan on claying both of them and was looking for a wax. Looking for a wax that can be hand applied and will give us decent life and is not one of the very high priced waxes, or do I just need to bite the bullet and spend the money.
1-Is there a good wax that would be easy to apply and not be in the $100 or more range? 2-Should we go with paste?
3-Do I need to break down and get a buffer right now or can I get good results with all hand work?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Dave

Finemess
12-19-2010, 09:32 AM
Take a look at MaxWax.

Joe in PA
12-19-2010, 09:41 AM
As a fellow Grand Cherokee owner (2001, 2004 & 2007) I can tell you that you need not spend anywhere near $100 to make the paint on your 2003 look great. Any number of waxes for less than even $50 will look good on the pewter paint. Paste or liquid is really a personal preference. Consider using one of the Collinite waxes (845, 476 or 915), Poor Boy's natty red or Pinnacle Signature Series II which is currently on BOGO for $50. Any of these will give a decent shine to the Jeep without breaking the bank. :xyxthumbs:

zliegen
12-19-2010, 09:46 AM
Go for the Signature Series II!! Add something to your cart for less than $1, GET FUZION MINI FOR FREE!! :D

Thats $150 in wax for $50!!

Dr Oldz
12-19-2010, 09:50 AM
Go for the Signature Series II!! Add something to your cart for less than $1, GET FUZION MINI FOR FREE!! :D

Thats $150 in wax for $50!!

My math teacher must have done me wrong..... That still doesn't equal $95 or am I missing something here?? For the free gift you have to spend $95 I thought!?!!?

zliegen