PDA

View Full Version : Detailing glass.

Big boys toys
12-09-2010, 02:02 PM
I'm new to auto geek but must say there are some extremely knowledgable people on here.
Here is my question. You detail a car, compound, swirl marks removed, wash it, wax it , do the wheels, tires and now we have the GLASS.
I have tried many different methods to clean glass both inside and outside, but are constantly chasing streaks. I have tried many types of glass cleaners, and also used different types of towels and even tired news papers , someone commented that the ink in the newspaper reduces the streaks.
Does anyone have great luck with any particular cleaner or secret towell?????
I also typically rain X the glass outside and inside , some people like the stuff.
Thanks in advance for the replies.
Brian

LuxuryMobile
12-09-2010, 02:10 PM
Have you tried a waffle weave glass towel? I have had luck with these.

Also, any particular reason that you apply rain-x to the interior of windows? Might be more work then its worth. My knowledge of rain-x is that it acts as a sealant or wax but for a windshield; it helps repel water. This might not be necessary for the inside of windows.

john F
12-09-2010, 02:10 PM
Hey Brian,

You might want to try this kit we have: Diamondite Perfect Vision Glass Combo includes Diamondite Perfect Vision Glass Cleaner and Cobra Microfiber Glass Towel. Clean auto glass windshields (http://www.autogeek.net/dipeviglco.html)

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/autogeek_2133_70835821

The waffle weave glass towels hold a great amount of moisture to avoid streaking. They are definitely worth a try:props:

bmw5541
12-09-2010, 02:14 PM
I'm new to auto geek but must say there are some extremely knowledgable people on here.
Here is my question. You detail a car, compound, swirl marks removed, wash it, wax it , do the wheels, tires and now we have the GLASS.