PDA

View Full Version : Need help starting

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

slickooz
12-03-2010, 10:14 PM
Since I'm very new to detailing. I wanted to know this was a good idea or I'm selling myself short. I'm going charge people now 75 dollar for full exterior detailing. Which includes wash,clay, compound, polish and wax, clean wheels and dress tires. I will be telling them I'm giving a huge discount and the price will go up. Just trying to build a client list. Any advise will be appreciated. Thanks guys!

longdx
12-03-2010, 10:28 PM
Just do not sell yourself short. (keep in mind how many hours it takes to do this service $75/#hours = hourly wage). Another idea is to have them go get a " $30 detail" at a drive through wash and then do a test area on their car to show the difference between them and your service.

ROMEO
12-03-2010, 10:29 PM
What is your time worth? I think you should go a head and charge fair price. $75 should be for something that will take you a lot less time, maybe something like wash, clay, quick wax and tire dressing?

When you start to do work for cheap, people will be expecting that all the time, I'm a contractor, and I never give my work for less than what it should be, and if people don't want to pay the price, just let them go a head fine someone else.

I'm guessing that you want to do this to get customers and practice, on set of giving your work for cheap, I would just do a few of my friends and/or family members and take lots of pictures of the process, show them what you can do.

How do you thing people will react when the second time they come to you and you ask them for $250-$300 for something you did for $75 before? If you want to give them a discount, give it to them on the second, or third visit, (If they come back with in less than 30 days), that way the worse is already done (the correction).

Just my 2 cents...

Mike McDonald
12-03-2010, 10:59 PM