PDA

View Full Version : Product help

aaron427
11-21-2010, 01:46 AM
Not sure where to ask this so figure I will start here. I have some older friends who have asked over the years to detail their cars (mine is always nice and clean), but for the most part I have declined. Now I am thinking about taking them up on the offer for some extra cash. These people are typically older, and have newish cars, and rarely have them washed or waxed. I could wash the car and they would be amazed at the work I had done.. ha ha... So I'm browsing through the products and wow I am overwhelmed... Anyone have any good suggestions for what products to use? I know I will be dealing with some oxidation, and swirl marks. I will be using a porter cable. So what have you had success with? I know everyone has their preference, but keep in mind I am not a professional but I have some knowledge. I listed the categories I will need product for. Thanks in advance for any help you can give. This forum is awesome! So much to read, and learn.

Car wash solution-
New car drying towel?? Best to use?
clay bar-
compound-
polish-
wax-
wheel cleaner-
interior stuff-
pads?

BobbyG
11-21-2010, 06:15 AM
I see you're a new member so :welcome: to Autogeek!

Sounds like you've already go some customers lined up! Up mention you have a Porter Cable machine, rotary or DA polisher?

I've given you some suggestions as they're the products I've used with much success. They are by no means the definitive solution for all detailing situations but they will get you off to a great start. I've added a few more area's recommendations as well.

Good luck!

Car wash solution - Duragloss 901, DP Extreme Foam,
New car drying towel?? Best to use? - Cobra Guzzler
Clay bar - Meguiar's
Compound- Menzerna Super Intensive Polish PO83
Polish - Menzerna Super Finish PO106FA
Polish - Menzerna Final Polish PO85RD
Sealant - Menzerna Power Lock
Wax - Collinite 845, Pinnacle Liquid Souveran, Poorboy's Natty