PDA

View Full Version : What's my problem?

Pages : [1] 2

skipper1
11-14-2010, 04:56 PM
I've been buffing cars every weekend for about 3 months. I started out with a G110v2 and 7" pads. The G110v2's cord shorted out and sent it in for a replacement. In the meantime, I still have cars to do and decided to get a PC 7424XP as a backup from AG. I went with the 5" backing plate and 5 1/2" Lake Country pads because I have read that I'll get better results.
Today, I had a new Kia that's about 3-4 months old. Freshly washed and all I did was put NXT 2.0 using a red 5 1/2" Lake Country pad. PC was set between 3 & 4. Why won't my pad spin? I've marked my backing plate so I could see if it would spin and it rarely would. I tried no pressure, some pressure and a lot of pressure. Best results were between some and lot. Pad flat on the surface. Am I doing something wrong here, does the PC have enough power, is the red pad the wrong one, however the website says to apply wax with the red one.
When I had the G110v2 using the black 7" pad, I had no problems with it spinning.

Next week I have a white Camero that's in terrible shape. I plan on using D151 to bring back the color and give it a wet shiny look. Am I going to have problems with the pad spinning using D151? I know the G110v2 using the 7" yellow pads work just fine.

I need help from the pros. Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for your help.
Skip

fairlady350z
11-14-2010, 05:06 PM
Does it spin if you apply no pressure to the pad? I am thinking that you may be applying too much pressure.

skipper1
11-14-2010, 05:22 PM
Does it spin if you apply no pressure to the pad? I am thinking that you may be applying too much pressure.

I thought I was applying too much pressure too, I had to actually lift up on the PC to get it to spin. Yes it did spin some, but not very much. That's why I'm here, thought someone else had this problem and knew the solution.

JonMiles
11-14-2010, 05:30 PM