PDA

View Full Version : help me with my detailing project? pls

mikek753
10-09-2010, 04:24 PM
Hi all,

I'd like to restore my 2 cars on budget.
I’m not a pro and don’t do it for living, just want DIY to save some buck or two.

Cars (10 years old green pearl and 6 years old gray metallic I think pearl ) have some scratches, dings / dents and ton of swirls, old tar / bird marks.
I'd like to make it as good as I can.
I don't plan to do anything to dings - not sure what I can do to those parking dings :buffing: - I tried glue gun method ([ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdVpvL_FpoQ]YouTube - Remove Car Dents Quickly & Easily![/video]) and it didn't help at all.

What I have so far to get started with scratch repair:
1. wet sand papers 1000, 2000 grit
2. touch up paint (for each car) pen
3. prime (white) paint
4. clear cote paint pen
5. Rust-oleum wax & tar remover (for use before & after sanding)
What I have for polish & wax:
1. Griots 6” DA
2. Bon-Aire RP120CN 120 Volt Automotive Orbital Wax and Polish Power Buffer with Adjustable Handles (Bonus Pack: 10 Wax Applicator and Polishing Bonnets Included)
3. Just 1 griots 6” orange polishing pad
4. Mothers clay bar & showtime
5. Griots clay & Speed shine
6. Mothers Pre-wax cleaner
7. Meguiar’s Ultimate Compound (UC)
8. Meguiar’s NXT tech wax 2
9. Griots One step sealant
10. Many terry & microfiber towels

For later:
1. Meg UQW
2. Meg UQD

What parts I’m missing to get my project done?
I think I’ll need more pads, but which one to buy? I think I need 6” or 6.5” pads

I know those might not be the best, but that what I have and I don’t plan to buy better replacement chemicals till I run out of those – think budget.

Process #1 for deep scratch / dings / chips restore:
1. Wash & dry car – 15 – 30 min
2. Apply Rust-oleum wax & tar remover to scratches 1-5 min
3. Wet sand 1000 & 2000 grit to remove not main paint 1+ min
4. If I see metal apply filler – try to make it even – 5 min
5. Wait for filler 1 hour