PDA

View Full Version : AIO or just a polish?

Pages : [1] 2

newb001
10-03-2010, 10:56 AM
Any thoughts on whether or not it's necessary to use an AIO (like KAIO) vs. a pure polish (like 1Z Einszett Paint Polish) if I'm topping with a Collinite wax (845 or 915) anyway?

loudog2
10-03-2010, 11:06 AM
I'm not a fan of AIO's. I would polish then wax IMO.

Silverstone
10-03-2010, 09:48 PM
I'm no pro but I would think that just clean paint would be best for a straight wax as opposed to a synthetic sealant layer in between. It might be fine but when Collinite was making their wax they had good clean paint to test it on, so that's what I'd do. FWIW.

killrflake
10-03-2010, 10:04 PM

I agree:xyxthumbs:

Rob T
10-03-2010, 11:09 PM

I agree:xyxthumbs:

It depends on the condition of the paint, but AIO's definitely have their place and shouldn't be overlooked.

Mike Phillips
10-04-2010, 07:35 AM
Any thoughts on whether or not it's necessary to use an AIO (like KAIO) vs. a pure polish (like 1Z Einszett Paint Polish) if I'm topping with a Collinite wax (845 or 915) anyway?

What condition is the paint in?

An AIO or Cleaner/Wax is often used by people as a paint cleaner, (with wax in it), to clean and prep the paint for the actual wax the person wants to use on their car. The fact that the cleaner/wax is also leaving behind some protection is just a bonus for most people.

A "Pure Polish" is generally a non-abrasive or non-cleaning polish and is used to maximize gloss and clarity before the wax or sealant is applied.

If you're referring to this specific product,

1Z Einszett Paint Polish Lack-Politur (http://www.autogeek.net/1z-einszett-paint-polish.html)

Then it's not a "Pure Polish", it's a cleaner/polish. Note the description of the product from the above webpage,