PDA

View Full Version : Best method for deionized water rinse

fishnugget
09-17-2010, 04:06 PM
Hello,

I am a total newbee to autogeek and had a question about rinsing my car with deionized water.

I have this RO/DI filtration system that I used for my saltwater fish tanks that is able to make gallons of DI water.

I was thinking instead of using those guzzler MF towels and increasing the risk of swirls, I could just do a final rinse with DI water since I have it readily available at my house.

So....what the best method for rinsing the car with DI water? Should I go to Home depot and buy a garden sprayer? Let me know what you think. I can make a tons of DI water. Thanks.

RaskyR1
09-17-2010, 04:42 PM
I'd invest in a TDS meter too and make sure you are getting pure DI water with zero TDS. Systems like the CR Spotless system are only good for a few hundred gallons of water before you have to replace the resin. The TDS in your city water will determine how long it actually lasts. ;)

TDS = (Total Dissolved Solids)

Welcome to AG BTW! :)

Here is the CR system...
CR Spotless Water Systems, deionization system, water de-ionizer, purified water systems, cr-spotless, spot free rinse, spot free car washing (http://www.autogeek.net/cr-spotless-water-systems.html)

Dubbin1
09-17-2010, 04:48 PM
I don't think a garden sprayer would get the job done as the soap would dry before you had it all rinsed. Plus you would still need to dry the car off anyway.

Mindflux
09-17-2010, 05:04 PM
I don't think a garden sprayer would get the job done as the soap would dry before you had it all rinsed. Plus you would still need to dry the car off anyway.

Prerinse with hose water and flood off with DI water works pretty well. Minimal spotting ;)

fishnugget
09-17-2010, 05:05 PM