PDA

View Full Version : Best winter sealant?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

fletch173
09-14-2010, 10:24 AM
Hello, I'm not a professional detailer, but just looking for a good product to protect my cars for the winter -- 2009 silver infiniti and 2006 silver ford fusion. I've done a little reading online and while Klasse looks like it would do the job, the high gloss sealant may be more work than I'm looking for as several posters have said it is tricky to remove. What prodcut would you suggest that balances good protection with ease of application for a novice? I'm hoping for about 6-months of protection to get us through the Pittsburgh winter. Thanks very much.

Bobby B.
09-14-2010, 10:35 AM
Here are some great products that are very durable for winter months and are very easy to apply.

Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0
DP Poli-Coat Paint Sealant
Klasse High Gloss Sealant Glaze
Menzerna Power Lock Polymer Paint Sealant
Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax
Finish Kare 1000P Hi-Temp Paste Wax

M+O
09-14-2010, 12:16 PM
Good question and from what I can tell its really comes down to personal preference and experience.

I'm kind of a newb as well and I recently made an AG purchase of several items. Two of which are for my winter detail => Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax 845 and Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0.

My car is brand new and I have clay'd once already and it doesn't need any correction (that I can tell). So, I plan on a wash, clay and then applying Wolfgang, cure overnight then applying 845 (maybe two coats) before winter or as long as the temp permits.

I have never done this exact process so I'm not sure what the "cut off" temp needs to be (e.g. when is it too cold)?

clearview
09-14-2010, 12:23 PM
I've been looking for that very same answer. I just got the Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax 845 and can't wait to try it this weekend. I've heard 845 is awesome stuff. I haven't had a chance to really try them all but this is the on I've settled on....for now.

BobbyG