PDA

View Full Version : Need help breaking into 2005 C6 Corvette Clearcoat

Pages : [1] 2

anarchyx914
09-11-2010, 01:22 PM
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, and I just want to say, this is a great forum for detailing enthusiasts and newbies alike!

I am brand new to the world of compounding myself. I purchased the Porter Cable 7424XP and Poorboys SSR1 and SSR2.5.

I had great results with these on my 2011 Mustang GT, however, on my fathers corvette (I was going to buff it for his birthday) it doesn't seem to do anything to swirl marks.

I am currently trying to get a good shot of the car w/ my camera, but having bad luck, so I will do my best to explain what is going on without having pictures at the moment.

I have currently made about 3 rounds with the CCS Orange pad on speed setting 6 using Poorboys SSR2.5. When I mean "rounds" i am talking about 3 full attempts at buffing the scratches out with about 6 section passes each as per Mike's Detailing DVD. I can see its removing about 1/5th of the scratches, its basically taking "chunks" out of the swirls. So now you dont see a solid circle of swirling, you see bits and pieces of it missing.

I am a total novice at buffing, so I was maybe thinking that bumping up to Poorboy's SSR3 with the Yellow pad would yield better results? I could probably remove more scratches on the car if I made like 10 passes on the vehicle section, but that would take me forever. I also read on the forums using the search feature that corvettes have super hard clearcoats, so anyone who has worked on them, I would love to hear some input!

I'm just a bit discouraged considering the amount of money I spent on the unit and the compounds, however, I am not willing to give up!

I will try to post some pictures later, I read Mikes post on how to take good snaps of scratches, however, my camera stinks!

Thanks in advance for any advice in aiding me. If you need anymore info I will be happy to post it!

anarchyx914
09-11-2010, 01:26 PM