PDA

View Full Version : best way to clean an entire headliner

Pages : [1] 2

Bullitt AK
08-31-2010, 05:03 PM
the whole headliner is just generally dirty...half is just general dirt and the other half is coffee or soda or something with a few heavier stains in spots...i have apc+ and folex

ilb3
08-31-2010, 09:39 PM
I have heard good things about Folex.

I am a rookie at this but when I bought my used Mazda it had a bunch of dirt and brown marks all over the headliner. I just got a bag of moist baby wipes at my local pharmacy and worked like a CHARM. It pulled off so much the overall color of the headliner got lighter.

Bullitt AK
08-31-2010, 11:30 PM
hm i have never heard that i may try it..i just dont want it to look blotchy and have to spend forever on it

buddhadog
09-01-2010, 03:02 AM
Armor all cleaning wipes work really well too.

What ever you use dont wet up the headliner too much.

Y2KSVT
09-01-2010, 08:30 AM
Although I just recently replaced my headliner, when I bought the car last year it had a lot of smoke stains. What I did that really helped, was very lightly misted a spot on the headliner with Meguiars interior detailer and then wiped it with a microfiber towel. You don't want to get it too wet or the glue that holds the headliner in place could start to loosen itself off of the headliner board. If the stains don't come out with the first pass, wait a while for that spot to completely dry, and go after it again. Depending on the stains, you may need something a little bit stronger, but the interior detailer worked really well for me.

Mark

Mike Phillips
09-01-2010, 09:21 AM
You also don't want to push real hard on it or you'll stretch the fabric and make it sag...

Believe it or not, if it's in really bad shape, maybe consider taking it to an established detail shop that offers this as a service as they will have the right tools and products for the job and take on the risk.

:)

Y2KSVT
09-01-2010, 09:51 AM